Skip to content
Contact Us   |  Councillors / Meetings   |  Compliments and complaints   |  Voting / Elections   |  About us   |  Finance / Performance

Neighbouring authorities

Local authorities near us

Swale has boundaries with four other local authorities:

Swale, Canterbury, Ashford and Maidstone are associated with Kent County Council in a two-tier local government approach. This essentially means there are some things we are responsible for and some things that Kent County Council are responsible for. For example, we deal with the car parks but Kent County Council deal with gritting the roads in the icy weather.

Medway Council is a unitary authority, which means they deal with everything themselves.

Feedback form:
Was this information helpful?
Thanks for letting us know your views!
This feedback will be used to improve our online service. We cannot respond to specific requests.
It's good but
How can we make this section better?
A to Z of Services :
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z